Hainan Province (海南省), China Travel Guide

World / Asia / China


Hainan Province (海南省) is a province encompassing the island of Hainan in southern China. As the island covers 33,920 sq km (13,100 sq mi), it is the smallest province of the country. By the definition of the government of the People's Republic, Hainan Province includes the Spratly Island, Paracel Islands and other disputed marine territories. Also by the same definition, Hainan is the second biggest island of China, as Taiwan is also counted as a province.

Beach of Hainan
Beach of Hainan
Author: Jan Krusche (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Hainan is separated from Leizhou Peninsula of Guangdong Province by the narrow Qiongzhou Strait. The southernmost part of Hainan Island is also the southernmost part of China. The island has a population of 8.6 million people (2011 estimate). The capital and largest city is Haikou. Hainan has a GDP of CNY 164.7 billion in 2009, and a per capita GDP of CNY 19,166.

Hainan experiences a tropical moist monsoonal climate. The hottest months here are July and August while the coldest are January and February. The highest mountain on the island is Wuzhishan, at 1,876 meters. The rivers of the island flow radially to the coast in different directions.

Going to Hainan

The main airports are at the city of Haikou in the north and Sanya in the south.

Wuzhi Shan, the tallest mountain in Hainan
Wuzhi Shan, the tallest mountain in Hainan
Author: Anna Frodesiak (public domain)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Tourist Destinations of Hainan

  1. Wuzhishan
  2. Xiangshui
  3. Yalong Bay

Main Cities of Hainan

  1. Haikou - provincial capital
  2. Baoting
  3. Bo'ao
  4. Sanya
  5. Wenchang

Return to China Travel Guide

[an error occurred while processing this directive]