Hubei Province (湖北), China Travel Guide

World / Asia / China


Hubei Province (Chinese: 湖北) is a province in the central region of China. The name Hubei means "north of the lake", in reference to Lake Dongting. The province borders Henan Province to the north, Anhui Province to the east, Jiangxi Province to the southeast, Hunan Province to the south, Chongqing to the west, and Shaanxi Province to the northwest.

Boats at the Three Gorges area
Boats at the Three Gorges area
Author: Carla Antonini (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Hubei Province covers 186,900 sq km (71,800 sq mi), making it the 14th biggest province of China. It has a population of 59.5 million people, ranking it the 9th most populous province. Hubei Province had a 2009 GDP of CNY 1.28 trillion, the 11th highest and a per capita GDP of CNY 21,566, the 16th highest in the country.

The central and eastern part of Hubei Province comprises the Jianghan Plain. Along the western edge of the province are mountain ranges such as the Wudang Mountains, Jingshan Mountains, Daba Mountains and Wu Mountains. The highest point in Hubei is Shennong Peak. The Jianghan Plain is drained by the Yangtze River and its tributary the Hanshui river - the name Jianghan comes from the combination of Chang Jiang (the other name for the Yangtze) and Hanshui.

Taoist monastery on Wudang Mountains
Taoist monastery on Wudang Mountains
Author: Seth Kramer (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

The capital and biggest city in Hubei Province is Wuhan. The province is divided into 12 prefecture-level cities and one autonomous prefecture as well as three county-level cities and one directly administered county-level forestry area.

Going to Hubei Province

The transportation hub for Hubei Province is its provincial capital Wuhan, which has an international airport, a regional bus terminal and railway station.

Pedestianized shopping street in Wuhan
Pedestianized shopping street in Wuhan
Author: Vmenkov (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Tourist Destinations in Hubei Province

  1. Mount Wudang
  2. Three Gorges Dam

Main Cities in Hubei Province

  1. Wuhan - provincial capital
  2. Huanggang
  3. Jingmen
  4. Jingzhou
  5. Shiyan
  6. Xiangfan
  7. Xiaochang
  8. Xiaogan
  9. Yichang
  10. Zhijiang
  11. Zhongxiang

Return to China Travel Guide

[an error occurred while processing this directive]