Jiangsu Province (江苏省), China Travel Guide

World / Asia / China


Jiangsu Province (江苏省) is a province on the central easterrn coast of China. It covers 102,600 sq km, making it the 24th biggest province in terms of area. Its name is a portmanteau of the names of two cities, Jiangning (now Nanjing) and Suzhou.

Grand Buddha of Lingshan
Grand Buddha of Lingshan
Author: Phoebus (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Jiangsu Province borders Shandong Province to the north, Anhui Province to the west, Zhejiang Province and the municipality of Shanghai to the south. Jiangsu Province faces the Yellow Sea with a one-thousand-kilometer coastline. The Yangtze River flows through its southern parts.

With a population of 77 million people, it is the 5th most populous and the most densely populated province in China, excluding provincial-level cities such as Shanghai and Beijing. It has a GDP of CNY 3.4 trillion (2nd highest in China) and a per capita GDP of CNY 44,232, the fifth highest, in 2009.

Wuxi skyline
Wuxi skyline
Author: yayow at skyscraper.cn (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

The capital and biggest city in Jiangsu Province in Nanjing. It is divided into 13 prefecture-level cities.

Going to Jiangsu Province

The capital of Jiangsu Province, Nanjing, serves as the provincial transportation hub. It is connected to Hangzhou, Shanghai, Suzhou, Wuxi and Changzhou by the high-speed CRH trains. To fly into Nanjing, Shanghai International Airport provides the most comprehensive connections.

Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall, Nanjing
Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall, Nanjing
Author: Vmenkov (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Tourist Sights in Jiangsu Province

  1. Chaotian Palace
  2. Grand Buddha of Ling Shan, Wuxi
  3. Classical Gardens of Suzhou
  4. Qixia Temple
  5. Tianning Temple Pagoda
  6. Tombs of Southern Tang Emperors

Main Cities of Jiangsu Province

  1. Nanjing - provincial capital
  2. Changshu
  3. Changzhou
  4. Huai'an
  5. Kunshan
  6. Lianyungang
  7. Nantong
  8. Suqian
  9. Suzhou
  10. Taizhou
  11. Wuxi
  12. Xuzhou
  13. Yancheng
  14. Yangzhou
  15. Zhenjiang
  16. Zhouzhuang

Return to China Travel Guide

[an error occurred while processing this directive]