Liaoning Province (辽宁省), China Travel Guide

World / Asia / China


Liaoning Province (辽宁省) is the southernmost of the three provinces of China in the northeast region. Covering 145,900 sq km (56,300 sq mi), it is the 21st biggest province in China by area. It faces Bohai Sea and Korea Bay to the south, and shares borders with North Korea to the southeast, Jilin Province to the northeast, Inner Mongolia to the northwest and Hebei Province to the west. The Yalu River forms the natural border between Jilin Province and Liaoning Province in China on one side and North Korea on the other.

Mukden Palace, Shenyang
Mukden Palace, Shenyang
Author: Qingning Jia (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

The Nulu'erhu Mountains are the main highlands of Liaoning Province. It marks the border between Liaoning Province and Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. The highest point in Liaoning is Mount Huabozi, at 1336 meters, located in the Liaodong Peninsula. Liaoning Province experiences a continental monsoon climate with long, cold winters and short, moderately warm summers.

Liaoning Province has a population of 43 million people (2011 estimate). It is the 14th most populous province in China. The province has a GDP of CNY 1.51 trillion in 2009 and a per capita GDP of CNY 34,193. The capital and biggest city is Shenyang, a city of 4 million people.

High-speed CRH5 train on Qinshen Passenger Dedicated Line, Liaoning Province
High-speed CRH5 train on Qinshen Passenger Dedicated Line, Liaoning Province
Author: Thyristorchopper (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Going to Liaoning Province

The two main airports in Liaoning Province are the Shenyang Taoxian International Airport (SHE) and the Dalian Zhoushuizi International Airport (DLC). Both receive international flights from neighbouring countries.

Dalian, Liaoning Province
Dalian, Liaoning Province
Author: Poco a poco (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Main Cities of Liaoning Province

  1. Shenyang - provincial capital
  2. Anshan
  3. Benxi
  4. Chaoyang
  5. Dalian
  6. Dandong
  7. Fushun
  8. Jinzhou
  9. Liaoyang

Tourist Destinations in Liaoning Province

  1. Imperial Palace of Shenyang

National Parks in Liaoning Province

  1. Benxi Shuidong National Park
  2. Dalian Haibin-Lüshunkou National Park
  3. Fenghuangshan National Park
  4. Jinshitan National Park
  5. Qianshan National Park
  6. Xingcheng Haibin National Park
  7. Yalujiang National Park
  8. Yiwulüshan National Park

Return to China Travel Guide

[an error occurred while processing this directive]