Shaanxi Province (陕西省), China Travel Guide

World / Asia / China


Shaanxi Province (different from Shanxi Province) is a province of the People's Republic of China located in the central part of the country. This province covers 205,800 sq km (79,500 sq mi). It is the 11th largest out of the 22 mainland provinces of China. Shaanxi Provinces includes part of the Loess Plataeu in the middle section of the Huang He River as well as the Qinling Mountains which are on the southern part of the province. On the northern part of province, towards the border with Inner Mongolia, Shaanxi takes on a desert landscape.

Huashan, Xi'an
Huashan, Xi'an
Author: Darren On The Road (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

Shaanxi Province has a population of 37.7 million people, hence placing it 17th of the 22 provinces. Its capital and largest city is Xi'an.

Shaanxi is the only province whose name is not romanized according to pinyin rules. This is the result of the limitation of romanized spelling which in Chinese characters would be clear. Shanxi Province and Shaanxi Province are spelled Shānxī and Shǎnxī in Hanyu Pinyin. In order to render these two provinces without tonal marks, the spelling Shaanxi was adopted for Shǎnxī.

Terracotta Warriors
Terracotta Warriors
Author: Kevin Poh (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

Shaanxi is regarded as one of the sources of Chinese civilization. It was here that thirteen feudal dynasties established their capital spanning a period of over 1,100 years, from the Zhou Dynasty right up to the Tang Dynasty. The capital of Shaanxi Province, Xi'an, is one of the great ancient capitals of China, and has been a great city during the time of the Silk Road.

Shaanxi Province shares a border with Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region to the north, Ningxia Autonomous Region to the northwest, Gansu Province to the west, Sichuan Province and the Municipality of Chongqing to the south, Hubei Province to the south east, Henan Province to the east and Shanxi Province to the northeast.

Modern Shaanxi Province consists of nine prefectures (to be exact, prefecture-level cities) and one provincial capital (sub-provincial city), Xi'an. The prefectures of Shaanxi are Ankang, Baoji, Hanzhong, Shangluo, Tongchuan, Weinan, Xianyang, Yan'an and Yulin.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Major Cities of Shaanxi Province

  1. Xi'an - capital
  2. Ankang
  3. Baoji
  4. Hanzhong
  5. Lintong
  6. Tongchuan
  7. Xianyang
  8. Yan'an

Tourist Destinations of Shaanxi Province

  1. Banpo Neolithic Village
  2. Daqin Pagoda
  3. First Qin Emperor
  4. Huashan
  5. Mausoleum and Terracotta Army Museum
  6. Shaanxi History Museum
  7. Stele Forest
  8. Zhao Mausoleum

Return to China Travel Guide

[an error occurred while processing this directive]