India Parliament
Delhi, India

World / Asia / India


India's Parliament, as well as the office of the president, ministers and officials, are located on the spacious grounds of Raisina Hill. The complex consists of Sansad Bhavan, also known as Parliament House, the two Secretariat Buildings (North and South Block), and the Bashtrapati Bhavan, which is the presidential residence. All these are laid around the Rajpath, Delhi's answer to the Champs-Elysées.

This layout is the work of British colonial architect Edwin Landseer Lutyens and his colleague, Herbert Baker. Following the visit of King George V in 1911, Delhi was declared the new capital of the British Empire in India, taking over the honours from Kolkata (Calcutta). Thus an administrative complex was created, named New Delhi. Lutyens and Baker took twenty years to build New Delhi in a unique style that combined Western Classicism with Indian motifs.

North Block, Secretariat, India's Parliament.

Much of the nation's keepsakes are arrayed around the Rajpath. To the north is the circular Sansad Bhavan. South of the Rashtrapati Bhavan is Teen Murti Bhavan, which houses the Jawarharlal Nehru Memorial. Within a stone's throw are the Indira Gandhi Memorial and the Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts. On the opposite side of the Rajpath is the National Museum. Anchoring the Rajpath on the east end is India Gate. [an error occurred while processing this directive]
View of the North Block Secretariat Complex of India's Parliament.

The front façade of the North Block.

Lawn of the South Block.

[an error occurred while processing this directive][an error occurred while processing this directive][an error occurred while processing this directive]