Home Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia

World / Asia / Malaysia


Istana Seri Menanti, Kuala Pilah, Negeri Sembilan
Istana Seri Menanti, Kuala Pilah, Negeri Sembilan
Author: Adiput (public domain)

Negri Sembilan is a state in the central part of West Malaysia. It has a size of 6645 sq km and a population of slightly over one million people (2007 est.) The capital is Seremban. Negri Sembilan shares a border with Selangor, Pahang, Johor and Malacca. The state is also written as Negeri Sembilan, and the official name often includes an Arabic honorific, Negri Sembilan Darul Khusus, meaning "Negri Sembilan, Exceptional Abode".

Era Walk, Seremban
Era Walk, Seremban
Author: Suanie (public domain)

The name Negri Sembilan means "nine states". It refers to the original nine states or districts established by the Minangkabau people who settled there from West Sumatra, Indonesia. Today, Negri Sembilan is composed of six districts. Of these, four of the bigger ones namely Sungai Ujong, Jelebu, Johol and Rembau are ruled by hereditary chiefs called Undang, who undertake to select an overall ruler of Negri Sembilan, known as the Yang di-Pertuan Besar. The system of choosing a ruler resembles the election of the Malaysian king, or Yang di-Pertuan Agong, except that the Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negri Sembilan holds office for life.

History of Negri Sembilan

The Minangkabaus settled in Negri Sembilan in the 15th century, at the time of the Malacca Sultanate, and were given protection by it. After Malacca fell to the Portuguese, the area came the protection of the Sultanate of Johor, which was established by the son of Sultan Mahmud Shah, the last sultan of Malacca.

Hong San Si Temple, Port Dickson
Hong San Si Temple, Port Dickson (29 December 2006)
© Timothy Tye using this photo

To look after the interest of the Minangkabaus, the ruler of Minangkabau in Sumatra, Sultan Abdul Jalil, sent his near relative, Raja Melewar, to be ruler. After defeating another rival to the throne, Raja Khatib, Raja Melewar was granted the title of Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negri Sembilan, which means "He who is lord over the rulers of the Nine States", by the Sultan of Johor, in 1773.

A series of succession disputes ensued following the death of Raja Melewar. The British eventually intervened in 1873, resulting in the district of Sungai Ujong falling under the control of a British Resident. This was followed by Jelebu in 1886 and the rest of Negri Sembilan in 1895. The first British Resident was Martin Lister, who was assassinated in office in his effort to quash violence between the Chinese secret societies.

The number of states within Negri Sembilan has fluctuated throughout history. Among the former states include Naning in Malacca, Kelang in Selangor and Segamat in Johor. The present ones are Jelai, Jelebu, Johol, Rembau, Sungai Ujong and Tampin. Within a different composition, Negri Sembilan is also divided into seven administrative districts, which are Jelebu, Jempol, Kuala Pilah, Port Dickson, Rembau, Seremban and Tampin.

Getting there

The most convenient way to reach Negri Sembilan is by road. The North-South Expressway cuts though the state. The following are the exits to different parts of Negri Sembilan:

  • Exit 215: Nilai Interchange
  • Exit 218: Seremban Interchange
  • Exit 219A: Port Dickson Interchange
  • Exit 220: Senawang Interchange
  • Exit 223: Pedas Linggi Interchange

  • Accommodation in Malaysia

    1. Look for Hotels in Malaysia
      Helping you compare room rates in different hotels and booking sites.

    2. Look for Hostels in Malaysia
      Helping budget travellers find accommodation.

    Towns in Negri Sembilan

    1. Seremban - capital
    2. Ayer Kuning
    3. Ayer Kuning Selatan
    4. Ampangan
    5. Bahau
    6. Bandar Seri Jempol
    7. Batang Benar
    8. Batu Kikir
    9. Chembong
    10. Dangi
    11. Gemas
    12. Gemencheh
    13. Johol
    14. Kota
    15. Kuala Klawang
    16. Kuala Pilah
    17. Labu
    18. Lenggeng
    19. Linggi
    20. Lukut
    21. Mantin
    22. Mambau
    23. Nilai
    24. Pajam
    25. Pasir Panjang
    26. Pedas
    27. Pengkalan Kempas
    28. Pertang
    29. Port Dickson
    30. Rantau
    31. Rembau
    32. Seri Menanti
    33. Tampin
    34. Teluk Kemang

    Tourist Attractions of Negri Sembilan

    1. Bukit Palong
    2. De Bana Recreational Park
    3. Fort Lukut
    4. Gemas Railway Station
    5. Jeram Toi Waterfall
    6. Kelamah River Memorial
    7. Lata Kijang Waterfall
    8. Lenggeng Recreational Park
    9. Pedas Hot Spring
    10. Pengkalan Kempas Historical Complex
    11. Port Dickson
    12. Porterage Road (Jalan Penarikan)
    13. Sri Menanti Palace
    14. Tampin Museum
    15. Titi Eco Farm
    16. Ulu Bendul Recreational Garden

    States of Negri Sembilan

    1. Jelai (Inas)
    2. Jelebu
    3. Johol
    4. Rembau
    5. Sungai Ujong
    6. Tampin

    Administrative Districts of Negri Sembilan

    1. Jelebu
    2. Jempol
    3. Kuala Pilah
    4. Port Dickson
    5. Rembau
    6. Seremban
    7. Tampin

    Return to Malaysia Travel Guide

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]